One of the few remaining covered bridges in southwestern Ohio and the only one in Butler County on its original site, the Black (Pugh’s Mill) Covered Bridge was built in 1868 to give access to a saw and grist mill owned by James B. Pugh on Four Mile (Talawanda) Creek. Pugh’s Mill ceased to operate after two decades, and the name of the span gradually changed to Black Bridge, likely because there was a white covered bridge located downstream. The Black Covered Bridge is recognized as one of the longest and most impressive of Ohio’s covered bridges. It is unique for its combination of two truss types – Childs and Long – within a single structure. The bridge was restored in 2000 through the efforts of the Oxford Museum Association, the Butler County Commissioners and the Butler County Engineer’s Office. A State of Ohio Bicentennial Historic Marker has been placed at the site.
The Black Covered Bridge is open to the public year round. Additionally, the Black Bridge can be rented for special occasions such as weddings, receptions, parties and more.
Please call 513-523-8005 and leave a message for more information. Rental income is used to maintain the bridge.